Meet Joe

Joseph Nassise

Joe is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than thirty books, including the internationally bestselling TEMPLAR CHRONICLES series, the JEREMIAH HUNT trilogy, and the GREAT UNDEAD WAR series. He also writes epic fantasy under the pen name Matthew Caine and a new take on the Arthurian mythos under the pen name Rowan Casey.

His work has been nominated for both the Bram Stoker Award and the International Horror Guild Award and been translated into half a dozen languages to date. He has written for both the comic and role-playing game industries and also served two terms as president of the Horror Writers Association, the world’s largest organization of professional horror and dark fantasy writers.

Current Bibliography


Darkness Reigns. Harbinger Books, 2017 (forthcoming)

The Circle Gathers. Harbinger Books, 2016.

Fall of Night. Harbinger Books, 2015

The Ghosts of the Conquered. BadPress, 2015

Beneath Still Waters. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, 2015

Bathed in Blood. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, 2015

Judgment Day. Harbinger Books, 2014

The Hungry Dark. Harbinger Books 2014

Infernal Games. Harbinger Books, 2014

On Her Majesty’s Behalf. Harper Voyager, 2014

Watcher of the Ways. Tor Books, 2013

Treasure of Lima. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, 2013

The Vanishing Tribe. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, 2013

Staff of Judea. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, 2013

King of the Dead. Tor Books, Nov. 2012

Library of Gold. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, July 2012

By the Blood of Heroes. Harper Voyager, May 2012

The Cerberus Protocol. Harbinger Books, Jan 2012

Cradle of Solitude. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, Nov. 2011

Eyes to See. Tor Books, Oct. 2011

The Tear of the Gods. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, July 2011

The Dragon’s Mark. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, Sept. 2010

A Tear in the Sky. Harbinger Books, March 2010

A Scream of Angels. Harbinger Books, March 2010

The Spirit Banner. Harlequin/Gold Eagle, Jan 2010

Der Schattenseher. Droemer-Knaur, 2009

Die Schatten. Droemer-Knaur, 2008

Der Engel. Droemer-Knaur, 2007

Der Ketzer. Droemer-Knaur, 2007

Heretic. Pocket Books, 2005.

Riverwatch. Gargoyle Books, 2005. Bram Stoker Award and International Horror Guild Award nominee

Riverwatch. Pocket Books Books, 2003. Bram Stoker Award and International Horror Guild Award nominee


Anthologies (as editor)

Urban Enemies, Gallery, 2017 (forthcoming)

Urban Allies. HarperVoyager, 2016

Midian Unmade: Tales of Clive Barker’s Nightbreed. Tor Books, 2015



Novellas and Collections

Tooth and Claw. Harbinger Books, 2017 (forthcoming)

Sorrows Dark Heart. Harbinger Books, 2016 (forthcoming)

The Sharp End. Harbinger Books, May 2012

More Than Life Itself. United Kingdom: Telos Publishing, 2006.

Spectres and Darkness. Los Angeles: Medium Rare Books, 2002


Short Fiction

“On This Day of Reckoning,” Eshort, 2011

“Becoming Michael,” Inhuman Magazine Issue #4, 2009

“Money Well Earned,” Legends of the Mountain State, 2007

“Saintkiller,” Masques V. Gauntlet Press, 2006.

“Roadside Memorials,” Lost on the Darkside. Roc, 2005

“Dawn Patrol,” Book of FInal Flesh. Eden Studios, 2004



Candice Crowe – 6 issue mini-series, Arcana Comics, Canada, 2010

HERETIC – 6 issue mini-series, Markosia Comics, UK, 2007


Role-Playing Game Supplements

The Sentinel’s Bible – players sourcebook for The Seventh Seal role-playing game, Creative Illusions, 2003



On Writing Horror: A Handbook from the Horror Writers Association. New York: Writer’s Digest Books, 2006